Pre-Training intake

With little under a month until I officially begin my 11 month training program for IronMan UK 2013, I am trying out some new supplements to help prepare my body for the slog ahead. I’ve traditionally been a bit injury prone around my knee’s, in particular with my ITB (a common injury with runners discussed here), so I’ve taken some advice and begun a course of Glucosamine & Chondrotin Complex & Devils Claw on top of my usual cod liver oil capsules.

It’s kind of a suck it and see trial and error process, but while I’m taking a little break I thought it would be worth a shot. When I begin training and start to take my diet more seriously to get all the benefits, I’ll start to incorporate more things like Brazil nuts for snacks, olive oil and turmeric in cooking and a spoon full of flax seed on top of my cereal.

It’ll be interesting to see how these added doses of natural ingredients work, but anything to stay injury free is noted. Having the capsules laid out for each days consumption is also a mental reminder that I am preparing myself for something even though I may not actually be slipping the trainers on.

About James Wilson

Trying to get to Kona over a 3 year period. Starting from scratch, to targeting the Big Island in 2016

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Nutrition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

