This Isn’t An X-Factor Montage

I did it. I entered. With over 2, 500 pre registered entrants for IronMan UK 2013 I couldn’t risk missing out so I just paid up the day the entries opened. Do it yourself if you haven’t already

So I’m £400 lighter and had to keep myself entertained in a cheap way for the rest of the month. I was out on the mountain bike in the hills with my iPod in my camelbak with the headphones coming up my back. I love having some tunes on when flying around the woods, it kinda makes you feel like you’re in a video! BUT my iPod on shuffle is a dangerous prospect. I was coming to the end of the ride, with the best downhill section around the corner. It would’ve been amazing to do this section to some pumping dance track or rock out to some loud guitars.

It shuffled to Westlife. I was devastated. iPod in my bag, I couldn’t change it. I was in an audio prison. It was the worst thing that could’ve happened to me. Ever. It ruined my ride. There’s a time and place for Irish boybands and this was neither a wedding or an X-Factor finale montage.

I vowed this would never happen again. So I got home, fired up the laptop and pulled together all my favorite tunes. Then I thought this is just a playlist – so I found some of my favorite sporting moments and layered them into the tunes also. I still get goosebumps when I think of Jonny Wilkinson drop goal in 2003. When Becks did that free kick. Why not have all the positives from my armchair specatating to help me through that run I don’t really want to be doing, or give me that Hollywood moment at the end of mtb ride.

Here’s a snippet of my running mix, including some Jay-Z / Kasabian / The Courteeners / Foo Fighters / White Lies / Audio Bullies all mixed with some inspirational moments

In a geeky way, I also tried to work around tracks with a beat that matches my running pace. It is possible to speed up / slow down the tracks so the beat is in time with my striking foot.

About James Wilson

Trying to get to Kona over a 3 year period. Starting from scratch, to targeting the Big Island in 2016

Posted on September 16, 2012, in Personal, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

