Training Is Changing

I’m back training after a week of feeling pretty run down and coldy. Last weeks big ride may have been a little too much and I paid the price for being out in the cold for so long. I was back visiting my folks and had a bit of rest up instead of keeping the training going and making myself worse.

Starting back this week fresh was worth it. Being back running has been a great introduction as I’ve progressively added miles. I don’t think I’ll ever be full of confidence with my ITB history so reaching 4 miles in my running rehab has almost been as rewarding as when I first nailed that 3k swim.

The turbo sessions now have more intervals in there, varied and now on back to back days. I spread the intervals over a 75min session and usually with a bit of India v England test cricket on the box. It’s all getting a bit chilly out there so the turbo is becoming my best friend. If I only I could make use of that wattage the thing produces it could power the Christmas lights. Or even be used as a record player like this!

My swimming continues to be strong and consistent. I’ve introduced some more basic drills to my sessions, now my base fitness is reaching a decent level. Working off time and distance is all new to me and my lack of swimming experience. I’ve done 20 x 100m off 2min 30 & also 10 x 200m off 4min 30. Both are pretty exhausting by the end. My second day of swimming is combination of swim and pull buoy for a bit of fitness and technique.

As well as my Training Log on here, I also update my activity on a wall planner that I see first thing when I wake up and last thing before I go to bed. A good reminder!

planner

Swim – Orange, Bike – Green, Run – Yellow, Race – Star

About James Wilson

Trying to get to Kona over a 3 year period. Starting from scratch, to targeting the Big Island in 2016

Posted on December 7, 2012, in Personal, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

