Time Spent Training For IMUK

The Pretenders

The Pretenders

Previously I wrote about the monetary cost of doing an Ironman from scratch. The cost of time is also worth noting, but this should be something of a pre requisite when you sign up to do an Ironman. My decision to do IMUK 2013 came when I went to watch IMUK 2012. I wanted that feeling that everyone else was experiencing in Bolton town centre that day. I set aside 10 months of full training. I didn’t join a club of any sort and just trained alone. This really worked for me, but i am in rare position where my working hours mean I can turn my training into almost a second job.

Running

I work 5am to 1pm so have all afternoon / evening to fit my training in. If I joined a club, the training typically begins in the evening so I’d be waiting around all day to go training, and it would finish way passed my 9pm bed time! Training in the afternoon means the pool is relatively quiet and on a nice day, an outdoor ride is sometimes possible.

All together I covered 2001 miles in training, the same distance from my front door to Moscow, or Milan and back. The Pretenders coincidentally had their hit ‘2000 Miles’ shortly after my birthday in 1983, peaking at number 15 in the charts.
I never felt overtrained and managed the load quite well. Time management is very important when it comes to fitting everything around your Ironman training. Like I said, I am lucky with work and also have no kids and with the girlfriend playing hockey on Saturdays means I can always fit in my big ride at a time that works around our lives regardless.

turbo_night

Swim Total: 152 miles or 7 times across the English Channel

Turbo Time: 4 & 1/4 days

Road miles covered: 1600 miles

Total time in the saddle: 7 & 1/2 days

Run Total: 249 miles or 9 1/2 marathons

A total of around 300 hours spent training in 10 months.

That would have earned me £12.9m going by Gareth Bales Real Madrid hourly rate!

About James Wilson

Trying to get to Kona over a 3 year period. Starting from scratch, to targeting the Big Island in 2016

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Cycling, news, Personal, Racing, running, swimming, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

