Triathlon England Blog – June 2015

This blog went up in June when I had started running again and really hammering the hills on the TT bike. The booze had been cut too!

June 2015:

Finally I’m back running and even tentatively competing! After an extended time away from running I’ve worked really hard to become a better swimmer and rider which has paid dividends – lots of climbing on the TT bike to try and over-compensate for the hills that I’ll face at Challenge Weymouth in around 10 weeks time. Killer turbo sessions mixed with some long 100-mile tests and threshold 10-mile TT’s have all shown vast improvement on two wheels. I’m just trying to transfer the progress I’m making in the pool to the open water – practising sighting, constantly thinking about technique and just using my time in the water to get the best bang for my buck.

tt_climber

It’s great to see the fitness has stayed in the lungs without the running – it’s just the running legs that need to catch up. I’m taming the urge to run too hard while I’m gradually building the mileage back up. I did Warrington 10k, a nice local midweek event and also the Salford Aqauthlon, organised by Manchester Triathlon Club; really good local events that push me a touch harder that I would on my own in a training day.

Always conscious that I am not out of the woods yet with my history of running injuries, it’s key to not risk any silly flare ups. There is a bigger picture that needs to stay at the front of my training thoughts. There is no need to be hero on a Tuesday or Thursday night, instead listening to my body and its capabilities.

DSCF3142col

I am the only one accountable for all my sessions, there is nobody making me get up at 5am to train and there is nobody who really cares if I don’t. Ok, my coach Paul Savage will set me the sessions, targets and training zones and follow my progress accordingly, but only I know when I’m tired, or forcing the issue as well as when I’m letting myself off. There isn’t anyone who even has to know if I had that slice of cake or that mid-week pint, everything is on my terms and it’s ultimately an individual sport that makes me responsible for how hard I want to work that day.

Before each Iron Distance race, I’ve abstained from the booze for 3 months preceding the race and Challenge Weymouth is no different. I’m pretty hard on myself if I do miss a meter or a minute of training, but it’s tailoring my best plan of attack and giving myself the very best opportunity with the time and energy I have available.

DSCF3189

Why run so hard in training if I know it might affect the next two sessions or screw me up even beyond that? How can I best plan this week to make sure I hit everything without being a recluse, being dumped (!) or just too smoked to get off the sofa? Only I can take satisfaction in that days training so I just shut up and do it – and then buy her something nice on the way home!

About James Wilson

Trying to get to Kona over a 3 year period. Starting from scratch, to targeting the Big Island in 2016

Posted on November 25, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

